Skip to main content

Professional and Program Recognition

Nominations open January 1, 2020. Applications are due before April 1, 2020.

The Berryman Institute (BI) is a national organization based in the Department of Wildland Resources at Utah State University. We are dedicated to improving human-wildlife relationships and resolving human-wildlife conflicts through teaching, research, and extension.

The BI seeks to recognize individuals or groups who have made notable contributions in the field of human-wildlife conflict management. Thus, the BI is pleased to announce its Professional and Program Recognition Program. Awards are given in the areas of research, education and outreach, and professionalism. Awards include a plaque and a $1000 honorarium. The awardees will be asked to provide a photo and one paragraph summary for posting on the Berryman Institute web site and publication in Human Wildlife Interactions.


Research Award

The research award recognizes authors of a research article published in the award year that has made a major contribution to the field of human-wildlife conflict management.

Education and Outreach Award

The Education and Outreach Award recognizes an individual or group for outstanding programs or communication in human-wildlife conflict management.

Professional Award

The Professional Award recognizes an individual for career achievement in human-wildlife conflict management who is employed by a federal, state, or private partner.

How to Apply

Nominations can be submitted through the Award Submission Form or by email to Terry Messmer, BI Director (
Nomination material should include the following information:

1. Name of nominee or program

2. A brief (500 words or less) description of nominee contribution to human–wildlife conflict or wildlife damage management (for research award, provide a copy of the article(s), and for professional award, provide the nominee CV

3. Your name and contact information as the nominator.

Past Recipients

Research Award

2008 Mary Conner, Wildlife Biologist and Adjunct Research Professor, Department of Wildland Resources, Utah State University
2000 Michael Jaeger, USDA/WS National Wildlife Research Center
Dale McCullough, University of California, Berkeley
2000 Dennis Slate, USDA/APHIS/WS
1997 Dr. L. David Mech, USGS/Biological Research Division
1996 Richard Dolbeer, USDA/APHIS/WS National Wildlife Research Center
1995 Thomas Sullivan, University of British Columbia
1994 Larry Clark and Pankay Shah, USDA/APHIS/WS National Wildlife Research Center

Communication Award

2008 Ben C. West, National Outreach Coordinator, Berryman Institute
1997 Dr. Robert Warren, University of Georgia
1996 Scott Hyngstrom, University of Nebraska Extension
Robert Timm, Hopland Research and Extension Center, University of California
Gary Larson, USDA/APHIS/WS
1995 Robin Porter and Stuart McDaonald, USDA/APHIS Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
1994 Dale Rollins, Texas A&M University

Program Achievement Award

2009 Frank Boyd, USDA/APHIS/WS
2008 Charles Brown, Eastern Regional Director, USDA/APHIS/Wildlife Services
1997 Dr. Walter Howard and the Vertebrate Pest Council
1996 Cornell University's Human Dimensions Research Unit, the Cooperative Extension County Association of Educators, and the New York Department of Environmental Conservation
1995 William Paul, USDA/APHIS/WS, MN
1994 Layne Bangerter, USDA/APHIS/WS, ID
Jim Buck, US Corps of Engineers
David Pauli, Humane Society of the US

Lifetime Achievement Award

2009 Richard Dolbeer, USDA/APHIS/WS
2002 Michael Fall, USDA/APHIS/WS
2000 James Miller, USDA
1997 Mr. Guy Connolly, USDA/APHIS/WS National Wildlife Research Center
1996 Alan Sargeant, US Fish and Wildlife Service
1995 William Jackson, Bowling Green State University

Professional Achievement Award

2019 Michael Mengak, Warner School of Forestry and Natural Resources, University of Georgia, Extension
2000 Rex E. Marsh, University of California-Davis and the Vertebrate Pest Council